Op 59 Suite for String Orchestra

Vivace energico     –     Intermezzo     –     Pavan   –     Scherzo     –     Finale      (21 mins)

Suite for String Orchestra   was composed for students. The Royal Academy of Music in London invited   its composer alumni to contribute a major piece for a festival of music by living British composers, entitled   RAM – Da Capo   – March 1993. Music for strings runs like  a golden thread through English music, from the 17th century Fantasias of Byrd, Dowland and Purcell, to the 20th century tradition of Elgar, Vaughan Williams, Bridge, Britten, Berkeley and Bliss. This suite   includes traditional English dances, and the finale is a 5-in-a-bar La Volta.

First performance       11 March 1993      London (Royal Academy of Music)
by the String Orchestra of the Royal Academy of Music, conducted by David Strange


Full score  ISMN M 708045 31 1

Listen to a sound sample

Royal Academy of Music String Orchestra, David Strange

V Finale Presto (2′ 45″)


We regret to advise that Francis Routh died peacefully on 27th November 2021
This is default text for notification bar